THEFACESHOP Cereal Mask Sheet in Walnut & Pine Nut Review

On the 18th of November, I had decided to go with my cousin to Herald Square. But after being there, and getting what we wanted to do out of the way, I dragged her down to H-mart and remembered, “There’s a TFS on this block!” So I went and bought nail polish, and a couple of these interesting masks to try out.

Here’s some background on my skin: I am Hispanic, Dominican to be exact. I have oily, acne prone skin which has been controlled by Proactiv. After about 5 hours, I have to use a blotting sheet, and I have quite large pores. Another note, I easily get dark spots and acne scars.

The masks I picked out were the Cereal Mask Sheets, specifically Walnut and Pine Nut, right under in small letters it says “for radiant, nourished skin”.

TFS Cereal Mask Sheet (Front)

This is the front side to the packaging for these TFS masks. Click to enlarge for more clarity.

It says the following about Walnuts and Pine Nut:

The Benefits of Walnut: Though known for promoting brain activity, Walnuts also smooth and illuminate rough skin.

The Benefits of Pine Nut: Used for ages in Korean home remedies to invigorate and nourish, Pine Nuts, which are rich in Gamma Linolenic acids, soften skin and improve elasticity.”

TFS Cereal Sheet Mask W&PN (Back)

This is the backside. Click to enlarge for more clarity.

The directions say to wash face and apply toner, basically start off your first couple of steps before moisturizer in your skin regimen—followed by carefully taking out the mask and fitting it onto your face. The treatment period is from 15-20 minutes. You DO NOT rinse off your face when you take off the mask, you gently pat and massage the left over essence into your skin. That’s exactly what I did.

The ingredients are listed in the back:

Close Up of Ingredients

Here are the ingredients, I tried to crop it a bit, but it didn't work. Sorry.

Here I begin my review:

This mask is—amazing. The mask sits well on the skin after fitting it, no slipping or crazy positioning to get it on right. The smell, is not too strong and its pleasant, it smells like a toner (nothing too strong or out of this world). But because it has alcohol, it might be a little irritating if you’re not used to it. The smell wakes me up and it’s as refreshing as it feels.

The mask has a large amount of essence, but it doesn’t drip. It keeps the mask moist enough for the 15-20 minute treatment period. After taking off the mask, enough essence was left on the skin to smooth out or massage into the skin. The next morning, my skin is very supple, soft and moisturized. I didn’t even have to use a moisturizer—because if I did, it might have been too heavy for my skin. After toner, I have two steps left in my nighttime skin regimen, and with the essence I had to skip them.

I guess I haven’t used the mask too much to see a large difference, but my skin does feel a lot refreshed after I use it. It had a glow to it, but I guess since my skin is more on the oily side, it could have been the essence making it a little too shiny (that’s why I only use it at night). The following day though, after my daytime skin regimen, I didn’t have to use my Skin 79 BB Cream (which I will post up a review for in the next few days). I didn’t even have to blot my skin a lot either, and it was a rainy and ugly day! Days like those make my skin rebel against me with extreme oiliness, redness, and large pores.

Conclusion: I loved the TFS Cereal Mask in Walnut & Pine Nut, it left my skin feeling radiant as it claimed and I will definitely be repurchasing more the next time I go to Koreatown or Herald Square. I would have definitely liked for the essence to be a little less “heavy” on the skin, but either way, for $2 it was a bang for my buck!

Leave a Reply

