Nars Lipgloss Review (All Night Long, Chihuahua, Dolce Vita)

Nars Lipglosses are the only lip products to make it to my HG list.

They come in various permanent and limited edition shades. Each are $24 and available on Nars’ site. A selection shades are available at Sephora, Saks, Henri Bendel, and other locations which you can find on the brands website, narscosmetics.com

The shades I’ll be reviewing are All Night Long, Dolce Vita, and Chihuahua. I bought all of these at the Sephora in JCP, online, and Sephora at Herald Square.

The lightest of the two is Chihuahua, the other is Dolce Vita. Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

This one is All Night Long. Click to enlarge.

One thing I have to say about these lipglosses is that they are so pigmented! I’m not a lipstick person because my lips are not much in the first place– fine lines, and dry lips are no territory for lipstick. At least not for me. I prefer these lipglosses as an alternative and I just love them.

All Night Long is a deep berry or plum color and it’s perfect for this season. It is a lipgloss so it isn’t such an opaque color. My lips are pretty pigmented on their own and this color is probably as daring as I can go for color.

Dolce Vita is described as a dusty rose– or a pink rosy color going a little dark. Really pigmented and smooth. Covers the color of my lips well.

Chihuahua is a light nectar pink… I see it as a baby pink with a bit of a warm tinge. Its the perfect pinky nude for my skin tone. I’m NC 25-30, I’m not pale but I’m not tan either. (I really don’t know what to say about my skin tone.)

In comparison, Dolce Vita is more pigmented than All Night Long and Chihuahua, and Chihuahua more than All Night Long. But you’d have to go to your closest store that sells these lipglosses to figure out which is best for you and which is more pigmented than others.

The lipgloss applies smooth and is not sticky. Unfortunately, the smell isnt exactly the best in the world. But it is tolerable, at this point I don’t even notice it. The color pay off is amazing, and a little goes a long way. The color last fr a long time and once the shine and gloss is gone, you’re left with what looks like you have used lip tint. The doe foot applicator is pretty precise, I’m not a fan of brush tip applicators. I don’t really have to explain a lot about it… I assume we’re all fairly familiar with these applicators. The packaging is sleek, and has that velvety soft feel like the packaging on other Nars products. I’ve never actually had a problem with them getting dirty, and either way, it’s super easy to clean in my opinion.

There’s no way that for the price you’re going to get bad quality and have it reach the end of the tube in a matter of weeks. On the contrary, it is money well spent. I’ve had All Night Long for a year now, even though I didn’t use it this past spring and summer. Dolce Vita, I bought a month ago and Chihuahua in early spring 2011. And yea, it isn’t the most hygenic thing ever to have lipgloss for so long. But meh, still pretty damn good to me. ^^

If you can afford it, you should totally give them a try. If not, you can try one and if you like them, I think it’s a good investment.

I hope this has been helpful.
Next post… either another TheFaceShop mask, or Skin79 BB Cream.
See you next time. Bye~

Leave a Reply

