(E) The Face Shop FACE it Magic Cover BB Cream in 2호 Natural Beige Review

I got this one by mistake because I originally went to The Face Shop for the FACE it Power Perfection not Magic Cover. It was a mistake, and as much as I feel a bit comfortable with the product—I’m not sure I would repurchase.

PRICE/SALES INFO: The price—I paid $28 for this BB Cream at The Face Shop located on 32nd Street in Koreatown. Pretty okay price… considering what the prices are for the Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream, Hanskin Magic BB Cream and the Skin79 Hot Pink BB Cream. I’m sure you can find this BB cream and the others I mentioned online. Some sites that seem to be pretty secure to me are Mikanjan.com and prettyandcute.com. Just check to see if they do sell TFS. If not, Amazon and eBay are good alternatives, but please, PLEASE be cautious in case you stumble upon anything fake.

Click to enlarge.

On the box, it claims that– “The PERFECT COVER Fix powder magically covers fine skin flaws through dense coverage to enable the skin to appear fair. It adheres to the skin comfortably and helps make-up last for an extended period of time.” On the side of the box in English it also adds on to say– “BB Cream covers skin flaws meticulously resulting in the appearance of a naturally perfect skin.” “-Sunscreen and wrinkle improving dual function cosmetic-” “Containing the Acetyl Hexapeptide and evening primrose oil, it maintains the skin firm and healthy.”

Click to enlarge.

PACKAGING: The packaging is much like the Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream. It is in that same tube with a pump—which I don’t like for the same reason as the Missha one. Since this is a BB cream with more coverage, the packaging gets really dirty and it’s not as easy for me to remove.

Click to enlarge.

TEXTURE/FINISH: The texture is not thick but it isn’t light either. It is pretty similar to the Missha BB Cream I reviewed. It has a matte finish which I am not all too crazy about. Matte finishes highlight what my trouble spots and dry spots are. And I have combination oily skin, and the oily parts… shouldn’t look dry. It is light though to the point where I know it’s there but I can’t feel it. Long lasting power too~ The finish is matte, but it is soft to the touch which makes it pretty easy to blend.

COVERAGE/SHADE: It has medium to pretty full coverage. It covers better than the Missha BB Cream, and it is pretty amazing. A little goes a long way! My everyday method of putting on BB cream is pretty much like the method Jen from Frmheadtotoe showed. I’ll link the video at the end of the post. 🙂 What I do differently is that I mostly pat and with this BB cream I can slightly cover my dark circles, freckles and dark spots much better with light, buildable layers. On days where I’m not rushing, I’ll apply with a latex sponge wedge.

The 2호 shade is light for a “Natural Beige”. It’s not as grey as the Skin79 BB Cream which makes it look a little “darker” than it but lighter than Missha’s 23호.

After ten to fifteen minutes the BB cream does oxidize pretty well. It’s really light when you first apply it but for me (NC25-30) it adjusts well enough. But I don’t mind, the slightly lighter shade only makes my skin look a bit brighter and not ghostlike.

From left to right, top to bottom: the first is bare wrist, the “swatch”, freshly applied and then the last is after it oxidizes. Click to enlarge.

ADDITIONAL POINTS: Because I have oily skin, I do have to blot. I usually do so after about 4 hours and with this BB cream I don’t blot. Because it has a matte finish if I get slightly oily, I’ll leave it since it gives a dewy look and not oily in a disgusting way.

As I promised, here is the video in which Jen explained the application of BB Cream. I think it’s really helpful.

(Update – 2013.01.21): I’ve pretty much gone to all the TFS location (except for the newer one at Chinatown…) and at the one in Flushing, one of the women gave me samples, saying its really popular in S. Korea because of the coverage it offers. I didn’t object to the samples though, (I’ve had this BB cream for almost a year now) since samples are always good for travel, hehe.

As far as application goes, my method has changed. The only oily part of my face is now my T-zone, my cheeks are drier than they used to be when I first published this post. I apply Missha’s BB Boomer after my moisturizer and while my skin is still moist, I mix the same amount of the Magic Cover BB cream with my Skin79 BB cream (just to make it less drying or matte…). Still covers well and makes my skin look brighter! I really like doing this during this winter season, the weather has been crazily drying my skin out.

 I hope this post was helpful, I saw no review for this except for one… so hopefully it is!!~

Thank you for reading and I’ll be posting more frequently for sure!

5 thoughts on “(E) The Face Shop FACE it Magic Cover BB Cream in 2호 Natural Beige Review

  1. Cattie Mao says:

    Hi there, thank you for your valuable review, i looking for some review mention this product, because i would love to buy one but i don’t know it works well on me or not. I used to use Missha M perfecr Cover no.23, i love it but its got gray undertone which is i don’t like and after it oxidizes, my face look grayish and cakey and a bit darker. But i like the way its coverage. I do have dry skin, and some dry part specially in the winter time, so i looking for BB cream which give me good coverage, but does not dry me out or after few hours some of the dry flakes occur, its so annoying me.

    So would you recommend i should use The face shop Magic Cover BB cream or keep using the Missha but lighter shade

    • Hello Cattie! Thank you for visiting and commenting!

      I’m sorry I took a while, but I really wanted to answer you the best I could, so I used both BB creams before replying. 🙂

      Since you mention you have dry skin, and some dry parts, on that alone I wouldn’t really recommend the Magic Cover BB cream, unless you moisturize and plump up the skin really really well. I have combination skin, and both the oily and dry parts seem dry and cakey from the matte finish the BB cream provides. It is pretty grey, and it is a lighter shade compared to the Missha BB cream. So if you have a standing location of The Face Shop near you, I would ask for some samples before you commit.

      I would stick to the Missha BB cream if it has been working well, since the TFS might be too drying and have an off undertone.

      Hopefully I have helped a little!

    • I know! A lot of people rave about it. Unfortunately, it wasn’t perfect for my skin on its own. When I did use it, I’d have to mix it with another product. But whenever it is available for you, I hope it works for you!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

