Things I’ve Learned Over the Years

I’ve been jumping around ideas of what to post on my blog. But I’ve had to strike the biggest of my ideas– the review of Missha’s Time Revolution toner, serum and lotion– and my skincare routine.

During this winter season my skin has gone from oily (point-blank) to combination oily skin. I’ve had to switch up my skincare routine as I started going out into the wintery, cold, cold world. This unfortunately, along with hormonal change (you know that time of month?) made my skin start to break out and few blemishes I was left with are taking forever to heal. They’re red and going to leave more dark spots. Sigh…

I’m going back to using Proactiv for some time and see if that helps.

Over the years I’ve come to learn a few things about acne and skin distress.

  • Know your skin. If you please it, it’ll please you.
  • Just because your skin is oily doesn’t mean you need to clean it more. On the contrary, cleansing your face more than you should strips your skin of oils. The good, precious kind. That makes you dry and your skin will find that as an imbalance, causing it to try and replenish your skin with more oils.
  • Find the right acne treatment. See your dermatologist. Or if you’re risky, trial and error between salicylic acid and benzoyl peroxide. (Don’t recommend you do that until you see someone professional though.)
  • Sometimes, you might not even need medicated products… If you find a product that keeps your skin in great condition, keep it.
  • Skin gets used to products. If you have other products that work wonders, switch every couple of weeks. That way your skin doesn’t get used to them. The same with hair.
  • Wash your face before you go to bed. EVEN IF YOU DON’T WEAR MAKEUP! Throughout the day, your skin is exposed to various toxins– dirt, pollution, etc. and we shouldn’t keep these on our skin. It will only lead to clogged pores and possibly– breakouts.
  • f a product works, don’t look at the price. Things may go wrong when looking for an alternative.
  • Don’t stress out. You’re stressed, then you breakout, and then you stress some more. I’ve been there I’ve done that. Not nice.
  • Get sleep! Sleep always feels good. Inside and out. If you feel good inside, what else can your skin say about you? Your body has the time to heal, balance itself, etc. when you sleep. So give your body a few more hours if your habits are as bad as mine. I’m working on mine and I’m getting there.
  • Drink water and eat healthy. I’m not telling you to go all organic and drop all the junk. We’re human and we all have that one guilt free food we like. But if you eat only junk, your skin will reflect that. Your body too. Get them vitamins and minerals!
  • Take off your make up. All of it. And make sure it’s gone. Make up towelettes, cleansing oils, cleansing creams, olive oil? Pick what works best for you and get it all off. Let your skin breathe.
  • Also, if you don’t have to wear make up (CC cream, foundation, etc.), don’t. Give your skin a rest, let it breathe.
  • Skin is different amongst people. What I’ve learned works for me… Maybe it won’t work for you. Do your research and seek help from a professional if you’re lost. My skin isn’t like my dad’s, or my sister’s or my friends’. Maybe you don’t have acne? Maybe it’s a skin condition? It doesn’t hurt to go to someone who knows.

Disclaimer:
This is more so opinion than fact even though many of these tips have become something sworn by for many. All in all… You are you and no one knows you better than yourself.

Thanks for reading–
See you soon in the next post!!~

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned Over the Years

    • Yay! Glad to hear.
      Thank you so much for the comment~ I really appreciate it.

      As for your page– woot for the Giants~ Really wanted to stop by the parade.
      So much blue and white on the trains today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

